Turbo on a 24v V6

Discussion in 'Turbocharged, Supercharged or Nitrous !' started by jayvr6uk, Aug 25, 2008.

1. jayvr6uk Forum Member

Hi all deciding whether to turbo my VR6 24v or not! im pretty new to forced induction so jus wanted any help as to which parts i need! I have purchased a turbo manifold which is a T3 fitment so obviously need a T3 turbo but which one? searched on ebay and you can get new T3 turbos for 200 squid but does this sound right? Only wanting 300-350 bhp tops! What other bits do i need apart from manifold and turbo? any help would be greatly apprieciated!

2. RallyeVR6

RallyeVR6 Forum Junkie

Manifold - which you have
    Turbo - T3/T4 type turbo will be fine. Will give circa 450 if you up the boost. 300 - 350 will be easy for it.
    WasteGate
    Intercooler
    Oil feed piping
    Oil drain pipe and custom sump
    A way of lowering compression (Spacer gasket or turbo pistons)
    Larger injectors
    Perhaps uprated fuel pump
    Boost controler
    Custom Fab'd Downpipe
    Custom Fab'd Boost pipes
    Lots of silicone hose
    Probably an external oil cooler
    LSD (if you don;t already. Np piont upping the power if you can't get it to the floor.
    Turbo chip for ECU (or aftermarket ECU)
    Possibly uprated clutch
    and probably another load of things I can't think of right now :)

3. jayvr6uk Forum Member

4. RallyeVR6

RallyeVR6 Forum Junkie

That turbo looks mightly similar to the one I have put on a 12V VR. Can't fully remember the specs of the one I used off the top of my head though.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

You have to be a little carefull with buing Garrett-y looking turbos though. When we got that one, there were alot of cheap Chinese copies knocking about with questions over their reliability.