Mk2 20v - MOT'd & On the Road!

Discussion in 'Members Gallery' started by Classy6, Feb 2, 2009.

1. Classy6 Forum Member

Right about time I started a build thread seeing as it's all starting to kick off over here!

So... I'm a qualified technician for Mercedes Benz and decided to have a dig at this 20v conversion thing. Bought a 20v AMK S3 lump, complete with loom, ECU & pedal last weekend, and so the fun begins.....

A bit of history to start with... it's a 1990 1.8 8v. I bought the car off an older couple (2 years ago) who had owned it 9 years, car had 83,000 on the clock was in pretty much immaculate condition.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

When I got it home, decided to sort out the bodywork. It had the standard rust around the windscreen, someone had done a smart repair on the N/S rear quarter, there was a bit of rust on the tailgate also. Had it booked into the body-shop where a few quid later the rust around the screen had been sorted, with spare wiper hole smoothed, roof painted, rear quarter painted, tailgate 'frenched' & rear badges smoothed. All in all, body is now rust free and pretty tidy :thumbup:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Started to strip the car out a little, just un-necessary digging really, looking for more rust problems. Mainly rust on the floor pan etc. All was fine asides copious amounts of water. This started a rampage on sorting every leak out on the car, which was insane. I'm pretty sure the Mk2 is 100% waterproof now, as all the screens have been sealed, grommets replaced, light gaskets silicone sealed. Pretty much everything.