2L Conversion the AGG block

Discussion in '8-valve' started by jrgibb, Mar 22, 2013.

1. jrgibb

jrgibb Forum Member

Hi all,

Got my replacement engine (AGG) for the 8V 2L conversion for my MK1 Cabrio. I'm a relative newbie, have done head gaskets in the past but this is my first full engine re build, so please forgive any daft questions.

I've read the AGG is pretty bullet proof however see little point with the block on the bench in not replacing rings however whilst doing so should I also replace the big end bearings, thrust washers and seals? Do the bearing cap bolts need replacing (like the head bolts) or can they be re used?

Anything else I should look to replace while I'm at it??

Thanks!!

J

2. Chrisrpal Events Team

Whats the mileage on the engine? I would remove centre crank bearing and inspect for wear, shiny surfaces and dirt grooves. If the bearing looks ok I would just fit back and not worry about it. If the bearings look bad then I'll buy new ones and get the crank checked and re-ground if it needs it with matching bearings.

As for the bolts, yes they need replaceing. i replaced mine and the nuts too. Someone I know rebuilt theirs with the old bolts and a conrod come off and wrecked the engine.

If the bearings are ok, I would just change chank oil seals and get the head skimmed and put the metal TSR headgasket on the agg unit with new head bolts.

Oh and fit new water pump and cambelt.

3. phatman_82

phatman_82 Forum Member

I would say depends on history of engine and how much you want to spend.
    Was it a good runner before you got it.

4. jrgibb

jrgibb Forum Member

Got the engine from Stevens (http://www.stevensvwspares.com) they said 100k smoke free. Have decided to completely strip down and rebuild. Seems to be false economy in the long run as I'm going to be committing a lot of time to the build i'd be livid if there was a failure as a result of a part worn part.