re-programming new remote key 2001 mk4 2.0 golf gti

Discussion in 'Security' started by jaydee242, Jul 3, 2013.

1. jaydee242 New Member

I have just purchased a 2001 mk4 vw golf gti 2.0, it has only come with 1 remote flip out key. I have bought a new case for this as old one is a bit battered so im going to swap over myself, I need to buy another key but apparently it will need re-programming, im new to this has anyone got any advice as I don't really want to go to main dealer and pay their prices thanks.

Last edited: Jul 3, 2013
  2. corradophil Forum Member

The remote control can be re-programed using Vag-com if you have the full version.

As far as I know if you need the transponder for the immobiliser it is a main dealer job. They get a temporary code from VW to program the transponder.

3. tshirt2k

tshirt2k Forum Junkie

You can reprogram the key if you get a new unused transponder as they can only be programmed once on the newer type.

If you get vag tacho you can do it yourself. ;)

4. corradophil Forum Member

It's been a few years since I looked into this, but don't you need the SKC (Key code) to program the immobiliser? IIRC if you have the original and it is a 4 digit code you can do it, but if it is a 7 digit code it has to be supplied by VW and has a very short expiry time.

I bought a brand new key on ebay, which matched up to the original key spec. The remote worked, but even VW could not program the transponder. In the end they supplied a complete new key programmed to the car.

5. tshirt2k

tshirt2k Forum Junkie

No. You can get skc from car. Very easy on the mk4 platform. You have to make sure it's and unused transponder though otherwise it won't work.

6. MUSHY 16V

MUSHY 16V Moderator Staff Member Moderator

thats not 100% true you can use second hand transponders and code them to a different car or clocks
    you right some of the newer keys you cant but it's alway worth trying
    even if vag com said no