worn big end, is their any hope?!!!

Discussion in 'Engines' started by swi01, Feb 17, 2004.

1. swi01 New Member

please help anyone cos ive got a major problem!

my poor doris ('88 gti) has been diagnosed as having a worn big end or crank bearing or something which is causing this nasty rattling noise above 3500rpm. this comes as even more of an upset as i only bought her 2 months ago and have already shelled out a grand sorting out worn bits and pieces.

basicly my problem is that as i am a student at uni and have next to no money at the best of times, i cant afford to replace the engine or whatever just now and will probably have to wait till i finish uni in 18 months time. the car runs fine but makes me wince whenever i exceed 3500rpm and on motorways this is a real pain.

i had also planned to have the engine uprated and reconditioned in the future anyway and also the gearbox but now im faced with doing it sooner due to the worn bearing thingy.

the car is in good nick and has done 111k and i really want to hold on to it, but not sure if i should cut my losses and sell it, or go without a car for 18 months, (this would hurt alot)or just get myself into even more debt and get it sorted with a group A head or something.

if i do get it sorted, how much is it going to set me back roughly to get the gearbox looked at, and the engine fixed and uprated (im wanting around 130/140bhp from it eventually, providing i stick with the standard block and head)

any help/suggestions mucho appreciated!

2. pigbladder Forum Addict

sometimes if its not really bad you can fit new big end shells,theyre about 25 and a 2hr diy job

if that wont cure it ,its alot of money for a rebuild or finding a used engine would be an easier and cheeper way out

3. swi01 New Member

need a long term solution tho, if i were to sell the car then replacing the shells would be a good idea but i dont want to sell her!

4. pigbladder Forum Addict