’Jerkiness’

Discussion in 'Engines' started by redbaron, May 17, 2004.

1. redbaron Forum Member

My 92 8v mk2 has an annoying fault when accelerating and decelerating. As you just put your foot on the throttle or take it off it 'jerks'. This is fine when caning it but when trying to be gentle with the throttle round town and stuff its just annoying as it looks as if im a sh1te driver.

Any suggestions? Have checked throttle body and it seems to be operating smooth, seems to run on by itself for a bit once the throttle is closed?

Idles at 1500 rpm sometimes untill you blip the throttle then it settles back to 950.
    [:s]

2. buzzby Forum Member

Sticking throttle cable?

is there resistance in the throttle when you push it down and does it come back up smothly.

Maybe spray some wd40 where the throttle cable connects to engine as this may also be sticking. Sorry don't know what the thing is actually called

Buzz

3. PaulM Forum Member

could be knackered engine mounts

4. Lloydieboy79 New Member

same happens to mine. got so fed up, i pulled the head off it at the weekend. once ive rebuilt it, i'll post again and let you know what the problem was

5. H8SV8S Forum Member

Engine mounts

6. setgti Forum Member

Reset the throttle switch settings and idle speed. If you can't stand it (like I couldn't) unplug the switches by pulling the connector off. The connector is just behind and above the intake manifold.

7. redbaron Forum Member

How do i do that then? Reset the settings.

8. redbaron Forum Member

Car has only done 83k and was owned by a lady (assume it wasnt driven hard) is it likely to be engine mounts?

9. buzzby Forum Member

Can you move the engine if you hold the top and try to push it forward and back. If there is a lot of movement then it prob is engine mounts

10. ywouldi New Member