Depression

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Mike gt, Nov 11, 2015.

1. Mike gt Forum Member

Who suffers with the illness? Does any one talk about it?

2. Hotgolf

Hotgolf Paid Member Paid Member

Fluoxetine is your friend. Well, it was for me!

3. sparrow Paid Member Paid Member

Lots of people talk about it now. The right medication is different for every case, get medical advice.

My wife suffers from it, and it was horrendous as we didn't know what it was for a couple of years. Medication has helped massively, but she still has her bad moments.
    A friend of hers with depression tried to kill herself last year.

Get treatment. Quickly.

4. Tristan

Tristan Paid Member Paid Member

I was very low about 4-5 years ago, and it was a couple messages from the legendary and sorely missed Danster that got me out of it. A clich, but it's good to talk.

5. Gaz37 The Grouch. Paid Member

I'm no expert but spent a day's training on mental health, we were told that, like painkillers, antidepressants only mask the symptoms, treating the cause is equally important but not as easy so is often overlooked.

6. Scutler Forum Member

Cognitive behavioral therapy has been a great help for me, medication did not help just made it worse....CBT really helped me to understand the issues.....still working on it daily and for those who have never suffered its hard to understand how debilitating it can be...

7. Hotgolf

Hotgolf Paid Member Paid Member

Gaz, go back and tell them to amend their wording on that.. I went to a few sessions and they didn't pinpoint a cause. The medication didn't mask things but helped me through some very low moments without masking the real world.
    Until you've been there you won't fully understand. The human psyche is so complex it'll never be fully understood.