How to convert a mk2 16v KR engine to carbs

Discussion in 'Carburettor' started by Craigcorson, Mar 3, 2015.

1. Craigcorson

Craigcorson Forum Member

I'm no expert on this, this is just how I did it. While trying to keep things as simple as possible many problems occurred for me doing the conversion so hopefully this guide will help you to avoid these pitfalls.

Step 1 - Fuel Supply

The 16v cars have a lifter pump inside the tank (on the sender/pick up unit) and a high pressure pump outside with an accumulator and filter. These are no use for carbs as the lifter pump cant supply enough pressure and the high pressure way way waaaaayyyy to much. To get round this we used a sender/pick up unit from a mk2 carb model as shown below

[​IMG]

There is a 3 wire plug on the injection unit and 2 on the carb unit. We used a bit of trial and error to get the fuel gauge working and got rid of the wire for the pump. The carb unit has a return on it which you wont need so bung that up with some araldite or similar

Now that you've ebayed your old pumps you can buy a new facet red top pump and a filter king regulator. The facet will provide fuel for cars up to 200bhp and the filter king can go under your bonnet so your carb tuner can set the perfect pressure while fettling your carbs. Dont bother buying one of the 20 ebay square / solid state pumps as they are on their useable limit on a 1600 8V car. Another handy point is to buy a filter king with gauge. Its only a fiver more.

[​IMG]

My pump is now where the high pressure injection pump once lived and the filter king is under the bonnet.

Step 2 - Choosing a manifold

This may sound easy but its a bit of a minefield. All the manifolds out that are available all have their own Pros and Cons in my view but its up to you what you want.

The TWM style manifold.