Mk1 caddy 1.6d engine swap 1.8 16v kr

Discussion in 'Say 'hello' in here.' started by _E_, Sep 30, 2020.

1. _E_

_E_ Forum Member

Easy fellas

I'm Ian from Birmingham.

I'm completely new to this, I'm looking for some advice on a engine swap I've just started.
    Mk1 caddy 1.6d to 1.8 16 v kr.

Such as:
    Standard kjet injection or twin carbs?
    Can I use the engine mounts?
    Will a mk2 exhaust manifold fit?
    How to tackle the wiring?

Cheers

2. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

1. up to you
    2. yep
    3. only with custom downpipe
    4. get a ce1 kr loom if going full injection, it plugs straight in just needs most of the loom shortening and some lengthening on the throttle side. get some proper terminals and you can chop back most the scraggy rotten wiring to the engine and crimp to nice fresh copper.

if going carbs just need the 16v ecu loom, run a wire to the coil from fusebox and couple tweaks to sensor wiring thats about it really. ideally run the ecu red/yellow fuel relay trigger to D/13 (diesel has a wire here for glowplug relay) then run fuel pump to E/14, or you can use N but have to put a fuse inline as its before the fusebox fuse

this might help:
    https://www.clubgti.com/forums/inde...mk1-cabby-several-years-in-the-making.186766/

3. _E_

_E_ Forum Member

Thanks for the advice.

Think I'm gonna with carbs as sounds a little easier than full injection.
    I currently have 16v ce2 full loom and ecu and 16v ce2 clocks. Can I use these? Really want a rev counter .

4. rubjonny

for the clocks you'll have to splice wiring, the ce2 mk2 loom isnt much use as the fusebox is different and on the other side of the car so nothing reaches or plugs in inside

mk1 golf or mk2 polo clocks with rev counter fit, if its a polo set you need to swap your speedo over as the smallblock gearbox has slightly different calibration. prob handy to do this regardless as then can keep mileage

5. _E_

_E_ Forum Member