Mk2 16v 1988. Fuel pump not priming ignition

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by mackieGTI, Feb 3, 2018.

1. mackieGTI New Member

Hi guys.

I have just been over to storage to have a look at my golf that i havent seen for about 3 year plus. I put a new battery on it and being a bit reluctant to start it due to the thought of the cam belt snapping i tried it anyway.

It cranks over fine but wont fire. I did notice with the first turn of the key i should be able to hear the fuel pump prime and buzz for at least 5 seconds but im getting no sound at all.

If i remember right is it the lift pump in boot that primes? Whats the best thing to check?

With no tools really or not multimeter i hope to go back armed with some information.

Clearly i can check the supply at pump first and work back. I work as a maitnenance electrician so fault finding is second nature but i have no wiring diagrams and the car is about 10 miles away just need some input for when i turn up next time.

2. Finite

Finite Paid Member Paid Member

They're wired in parallel. Board to boot first then it splits off into lift/main. The latter follows the flow pipe underneath. You can check the lift pump flow rate its 300cc in 10 seconds.

3. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

if you swap the 18 relay into slot 2 both fuel pumps should come on with the ignition. if they do everything on the fusebox -> pump side is fine, concentrate on the ecu and wiring to it. there is a 2 pin spade plug in the scuttle that goes between the ecu loom and fusebox loom, its not sealed so corrosion can build up here. check the coil wiring as well, the spade with the black and black/white wires in it is what powers the ecu and spark module.