My MK2 R32 build

Discussion in 'Members Gallery' started by daljsd, Jun 26, 2020.

1. daljsd Forum Member

Wow I can’t believe I remembered my old password, reminds me of how much I used to be on this forum before ‘responsibilities’ kicked in

This forum helped me so much in the past so thought I’d finally give something back. The Golf Mk2 forum had an update recently so I had to manually copy my build thread over, perfect opportunity to create one here at the same time. Some of it may not flow but you’ll get the idea.

This is going to take a while to copy and paste. Here goes ……

I get asked for a build thread quite often so thought I'd join in and give it a go. I've been driving MK2 Golfs since 1998 and can't get enough of them.

Pearl grey I've had for a while now and looked like this when I picked it up. Already had the Ronals, some cheap coilovers, GTI 8V, power flow exhaust and well maintained inside and out.

[​IMG]

Only issue was the central locking stopped working. Removed the door card to reveal this work of art ..

[​IMG]

installed a new solenoid and tidied up the wiring

[​IMG]

The car quickly got an ABF conversion with a 4.25 final drive 020 gearbox. very quick acceleration but topped out at 120mph, she was a screamer on the motorway even at 70 :sorry, what?:

Trip to the Nurburgring

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The ABF is a great engine but no match for modern hot hatches which seem to be as quick as super cars nowadays with their 4wd twin clutch launch control flappy gearbox stuff. Plan was to give the MK2 a little extra power so opted for an R32. I'm big on nasp engines so turbo wasn't really an option for me. Luckily a guy from Westside VW was braking his mk2 R32 so I bought the engine and chucked it in ..

All the heavy stuff was done at my uncles garage during a long weekend when it was closed. Great man my uncle :thumbs:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]