Newbie advice needed for AUM re-build

Discussion in '1.8 & 1.8T' started by Marcus.w, Aug 20, 2016.

1. Marcus.w New Member

Hi I have a mk4 golf gti with engine code AUM, I would like to buy a second engine to re-build and upgrade in my spare time, as this will be my first time doing anything like this I'm thinking it might be best to get the same engine code so it will be straight forward to swap into my car. although I'm guessing that nothing is ever straight forward but at least I would not have so many worries with the electrics?

I have spent ages online trying to find books or any information on how to go about this project in a professional way, I'm not getting very far with this.

my aim is to end up with about 250bhp daily runner, I would like to have the internal components blueprinted, I'm very interested in trying for a dry sump set-up and perhaps water/meth injection, use of hybrid turbo,

I'm a welder earning half decent money but the problem is I just don't know what parts I need to buy?
    I would like to get the best components and have the time to save for them, could anybody please give me a list of parts that I can use for this? also if anyone knows of a good book on this subject? I would very much appreciate any advice, Thanx

2. Toyotec

Toyotec CGTI Committee - Happy helper at large Admin

I will answer later.

Nightroamer likes this.
  3. fasteddie

fasteddie Banned

He is the man to write it up ^^^

4. Marcus.w New Member

ahh thanx very much, will check back later

5. Toyotec

150-180 ps AUM/AUQ rebuild.

In 2001 VW cost cut their cheaper sub 200 ps/9:5:1 compression 1.8T engines internally, using cracked rods with tapered small ends and pistons with smaller 19mm grudgeon pins.
    With the cost cutting done internally, the new engines benefited from VVT, LSU 4.2 lambda sensors and a new ME7.5 ECU with more memory.