Timing 1.6 EZ

Discussion in '8-valve' started by DoubleOSeven, Apr 11, 2022.

1. DoubleOSeven New Member

I’ve trailed the web for an hour, nothing definitive.

How to set timing with a strobe? Now I know the basics but what I can’t find is where to set it. The talk of being 18 BTDC, how do you know where 18 BTDC is?

Is there a link or a wiki page here for timing because I can’t find it. Thanks.

1990 1.6 EZ (auto)

2. daNpy Forum Member

You have to adjust the timing on the ignition. If it's a rotor, adjust the rotor.
    If it's fired by the computer, adjust the sensor (or the computer if possible).

3. DoubleOSeven New Member

I don't mean to be rude, but I don't understand your response at all and I've been playing with these Mk2's for 30 years - you'd think I know this by now wouldn't you! ;) So many variants, they all seem to having different set-ups.

You have to adjust the timing on the ignition. What do you mean, can you eloborate?
    If it's a rotor, adjust the rotor. Adjust the rotor, what? It's fixed in the dizzy. I assume you mean rotate the dizzy. Yeah, I'm fine with doing that, but to where?
    If it's fired by the computer, adjust the sensor (or the computer if possible). Computer, what? It's transistorised, but no port for computer plug in on these old cars?!

So, the crank pulley has a dot, the timing cover has a line, the dizzy has a notch for cylinder 1. I can line all those up for TDC, not a problem. But when I then attach the strobe and run the car up to temp. Where does this 18 BTDC come into it and where is the mark for that? If it's relevant at all? dunno.

4. daNpy Forum Member

Well I didn't understand what you meant by "Now I know the basics but what I can’t find is where to set it." so we're even [:D] ;)

On my flywheel there are 2 marks, one dot for the 0° and a line for the ignition before TDC, I thought it was about 6°.