1.3 to ABF

Discussion in 'Mk2' started by holty, Nov 19, 2010.

1. holty Forum Member

Ok, had enough of useless good for nothing power of a 1300 now, i have an ABF lump waiting to go in so ive decided it's time to do it!

So far i think im most of the way there on the parts list, heres a list of stuff i have followed by a list of stuff i know i need, is there anything else im going to need/change?

i have:
    engine
    box
    ancillarys

i need:
    engine loom
    ecu
    driveshafts-unless i can use my 1.3 shafts?
    diffrent fuel pump-which one?
    new radiator?

this is all i can think of at the moment, now obviously i know you can't tell me every little part im going to need because u can't see the huge box of bits and bobs that came with the engine! But i just mean any major parts that are needed to do the conversion.

sorry im not too good at explaining things, but any help/advice is much appreciated :thumbup:

thanx in advance, Ben

2. shaz8389

shaz8389 Forum Junkie

Contact rubjonny for a plug and play loom, he's damn good at them. Driveshaft off a 1.8 mk2, ecu from early abf for no immob, gti rad from a mk2. I recommend mk2 16v gearbox for under ratios.

3. shaz8389

shaz8389 Forum Junkie

Oh yeah. Fuel pump. Get a mk2 k-jet one.

4. holty Forum Member

thanx for the reply shaz :thumbup: i shall get on to rubjonny straight away!

One other thing is obviously going to need to upgrade brakes, would i be able to use 1.8 8v front calipers with my servo etc? Only reason I'm choosing these is because I know they fit under my wheels, because i can't afford wheels yet to run bigger brakes [8(]
    Just looking for slightly better brakes for now until i can afford better/bigger ones :)

5. shaz8389

shaz8389 Forum Junkie

You need to change the discs, if your calipers say VW II then they will work with 8v GTi brakes. To be honest I'd look to upgrade your brakes mate, I have a 1.8 8v GTi and the brakes on it aren't enough for my liking.