( 2.0 16v ABF ) vs ( 1.8T 20v ) comaparison for which is best for Golf MK2

Discussion in 'Engines' started by kmk4, May 22, 2013.

1. kmk4 New Member

Im a physician but I adore mk2 cars I have Golf MK2 89 stock 1.3 engine ofcourse I was planning for engine swap and search for engine that satisfy my needs L ( I know a lot of mods needed) . There are many choices for golf owners but I found the most popular engines are : 2.0 8v (2E-ADY) , 2.0 16v ABF , 1.8T and ofcourse the monster VR6 2.8L..

-Regarding the 2E/ADY its very popular in middle east as its spare part are available. They produce reasonable horse power for the city drive (112 HP) and their mantaince is very easy to do it yourself and its very cheap engines add to that the swapping process itself is very easy . However they still an old engines . In my opinion it does not deserve to waste your money swapping 8v old engine just to get 112 horse power and choose an engine which if you plan to tune it will not give you a lot of horse power . I will not consider it in my research

-VR6 the popular monster 6 cylinder engine which is highly tunable and you can get from it a great power .. but the main problems of this engine are the engine is too heavy for the MK2 and really it alter the center of gravity and the equilibrium of the mk2 which is highly noticeable in turning the car in high speed .. this problem can be solve with some modification in suspension and in the engine mounting .. I read about a group who do a good modification but still an expensive modification. Add to that the engine is not suitable for city drive as it consume fuel and its spare parts are not cheap so I did not consider this engine too in my reasrch although its compression ratio is low which make it highly tunable and can held twin turbo easily

my comparison will be between the ABF (2.0L 16v) and the 20v 1.8T as both engine are powerful , tunable and not that heavy engines which will not alter car equilibrium much

ABF