Bullet Cam and recorder info req'd

Discussion in 'Photography - general' started by steve r, Aug 18, 2009.

1. steve r

steve r Forum Member

(May not be the best section so feel free to move)

I'm thinking about getting a camera setup to go in my trackcar as i have very little footage of it out on track.

I have no experience of this sort of stuff so can someone help expalin the best route for me?

I was thinking a bullet cam would be good due to the small size making it easy to mount. What sort of quality do they give / what resolution should i look for.

Do these then need to plug into a camcorder/laptop/other recording device? I think solid state would be best due to the vibrations in my car. SD cards? size? how much footage will they hold?

And cost, what would i need to spend to get a reasonable setup?

Basically a beginners guide would be helpful.

Cheers

2. A.N. Other Banned after significant club disruption Dec 5th 2

I guess camera mounts are also an invaluable part of this.

3. vw_singh Events Team Paid Member

Hi Steve,

I'm using a modern still pocket camera that allows 2gb of film to be made at any one time which works out to be about 25mins of continuous footage. Put that together with an 8 suction cup mount from Maplins and avidemux (free off the net) to rotate the video and there you go.

Gurds

4. Mat-R Forum Member

Hi Steve, I'm in the same boat.

I've looked into a few bits of kit but seem to keep coming back to the Gopro motorsports (wide) and the Dogcam DVR1 in the sub 200 category.

I'm also considering buying a bullet cam and digital video recorder seperately.

Does anyone already own the Gopro motorsports Wide?

5. steve r

steve r Forum Member

Thanks for the info,

I'm quite tempted by a sony HQ1 or maybe the HQ2, good brand and used by the BBC for helmet cam footage apparently?

Just not sure on the recorder, i'd like something with a wired remote that could be mounted on the dash to start/stop easily.

6. StuMc