Calling all high mileage commuters - what car do you use & why did you choose it?

Discussion in 'General Vehicle Chat' started by G-Man, Mar 30, 2014.

1. G-Man Forum Junkie

I've been driving 25k miles a year for nearly 9 years now and having had an Arosa TDI, mk4 golf 1.8T, Volvo S60 D5 and now a Clio 172. I'm now in search for another car to mop up my annual mileage. But as my fuel bills are around 320 a month and I'm in the process of buying a house, I need to consider driving something cheaper to run:

My options are:

a) Buy a cheap diesel car, like an A4 B5 1.9 TDI, save money each month but have an old boring car to drive.
    b) Buy something newer like an A3 2.0 TDI, save a money each month, drive something more refined and visually appealing, but at the downside of having an outlay at least 4k and possibly face larger repairs bills (DMF, DPF, turbo etc)

So for those high mileage commuters of ClubGTI, what car do you use and why? I'm interested in those who have gone down the route of an older car to run (cheaper to buy) and also those who have spent more money to buy something better :)

2. Mr Funk Forum Member

I'm in a similar position.
    New job means no company car and we really need a second car. Modest budget and looking at diesels.
    Been looking at S Line A4. Nice kit for the money (I've about 7k to play with)

3. nealey Forum Junkie

I.a.n.b used to do 20k a year and he just did it in things like old diesel polos and diesel mk3 golfs, he used to just pretty much do any little bits that needed doing, kept it serviced and if anything major went wrong just move it on and buy another one. At one point he was doing it in a 2 year old polo gt but he stopped using that as 20k a year would of soon took the value out of it.

4. DEX

Dex Paid Member Paid Member

I have an '08 plate Vectra Sri Estate (150bhp cdti)