Camera Q?

Discussion in 'Photography - general' started by mark25, Jan 18, 2009.

1. mark25 Forum Junkie

2. RIP-MK3 Forum Addict

the 2000HD has a wider lens, which means it has a smaller max aperture... so will take wider pics (good for landscapes etc) where as the other one will perform better in low light situations as it has a smaller f. number

I'm no expert but seems six of one and half a dozen of the other.... both good camera's though

3. stella

stella Forum Junkie

^ What he says.

Depends what you plan on using it for, of course. The HD will do video, but the FD has the better lens, so if aiming for photographs, that's the one I'd chose.

Seems to be the same camera with slightly different specs.

Fuji make good cameras, so you'd probably be OK with either. Couldn't see the prices on those links - is there much difference between the two?

4. theboymike Forum Junkie

Based purely on lens specs the S8100 looks better - the lens is faster (F2.8 - F4.5 v. F3.5 - F5.4) and has a larger zoom range (4.7mm - 84.2 mm v. 5.0mm - 75.0 mm).

Of course this doesn't take into account the actual quality of the lens; usually the further you push the zoom range the more distortion you'll get at the extremes.

Best bet is to hit google for some reviews - I tried a few favourite sites but couldn't find owt..

5. mark25 Forum Junkie

Thanks for the replies.

The 2000HD is 20 - 30 quid dearer, but has a much better video function, 1280 x 720 and a Hi Def output, instead of the normal compact cameras 640 x 480 which is also what the S8100FD has:thumbd: This is the major attraction of the 2000HD.

The 2000HD ia new so there prob won't be many reviews yet.

It's just that i wasn't sure how much the apparently better Camera specs like lens and shutter specs on the S8100FD will effect (enhance) picture quality[:s]

I can well imagine the I flash is worth having on the 8100FD.