Greetings from NZ

Discussion in 'Say 'hello' in here.' started by Tr1cky, Apr 16, 2023.

1. Tr1cky New Member

How’s it going golfers…

New to this forum, I may have been a member in the early 2000s but can’t remember.

I’ve been a MK2 GTi driver on and off since I was a young fella and I’m now firmly into middle age unfortunately. I bought a tired, NZ-new Wolfsburg made ‘87 MK2 16v 2-door (KR) in 2003 with 250,000km. I rebuilt it top to bottom, literally a complete dismantling and reassembly with all wear & tear parts assessed and largely replaced, from crank bearings up basicially. I imported the new parts from a well-known supplier in the US in one hit, found the paperwork for that the other day and reminded myself all the stuff done to the car.

I used the car as a daily driver and for occasional track days. So much fun. Went really well and was totally reliable. The engine rebuild was something I was quite proud of as it revved happily to 7.5k and pulled hard. The hardest part of the rebuild was tackling the abused close ratio gearbox which was the first time I had gotten into the dark realms of boxes…. I learnt a lot and the rebuild of the box was a great success.

Drove the car for about 5 years until disaster struck in ‘09 and I was diagnosed with cancer and told “all over mate, sorry”. The car was parked up in the corner of a large dry shed used by my neighbour for his tractor collection. He promised me he would look after it - it was done properly, on axle stands with all the fuel drained from the tank, the engine run until it ran out of fuel.