( headlights )

Discussion in 'Styling, Trim and Bodywork' started by shakey021, Apr 24, 2006.

1. shakey021 New Member

didnt find my answer on search,

but i have an 87 gti, 16v, and it has the squareish headlights, i was wondering if it was easy to enterchange to the circle lights ??? i saw this piece of ebay that had the mounted 2 cirlce lights but i wasnt sure if it was enterchangable from sqaure to cirlces... as i am new to the vw scean

thank you please no putdowns for lack of knowledge thanks

2. benthejettaman Forum Member

u need the grill lights and front panel to do this mod but its fairly easiy just need 10 and 17 mm sockets for the job

3. Jolfa

Jolfa Forum Junkie

whats the 17 for?!

4. RichardDarrenB Paid Member Paid Member

To take the front bumper off?

5. RichardDarrenB Paid Member Paid Member

BTW Shakey if your prepared to travel to Leeds I have everything you need for cheap as I need the space

6. pigbladder Forum Addict

you can leave the bumper on..

7. RichardDarrenB Paid Member Paid Member

I normally take it off as undoing the 2 x 10mm nuts under each headlight are tricky with the bumper in situ.

8. Jolfa

Jolfa Forum Junkie

its more of a pain to take the bumper off i find...

9. pigbladder Forum Addict

yeah no way will i take the bumper off....use a extension and u/j or wobble end and a 10mm socket

10. shakey021 New Member

thank you guys for the help, to do this mod how much do u think its really going to cost...
    and actually all the pieces, if you can show pictures of what i really need ( parts whise ) not tools, that would be great thank you

i love this board no one really talks smack on here to eachother unlike other boards ( honda boards )

11. Dono Forum Member

you'd need your lights of course, you need headlights, you could go standard, or spruce em up with angel eyes, or cyrstals. prices vary from 2nd hand standard light from a scrappy arround 15 or crystals aroung 30-50