install turbo on mk1 gti

Discussion in 'Turbocharged, Supercharged or Nitrous !' started by oak7ey, Oct 6, 2011.

1. oak7ey New Member

Hi after much searching and patience i managed to buy a mk1 golf driver1.3 3 door which was fully converted into a Gti 1.8 by the previous owner. Now i am not an expert in these matters so just a little about the car and what was done.

Tsr piper cam
    Ported and polished head
    4 branch manifold
    Complete stainless steel supersprint exhaust
    Pulls extremely well in all gears and sometimes feels like i could do with a 6th gear. The engine what ever has been done is extremely fast reving.

As i am new to this i purchased a turbo last night and just wondering if this is a straight forward conversion or do i need to get many other bits and bobs. Anyway here is a pic of the turbo

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/150671256162?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1438.l2648

Hope that link works, pls tell me what your thoughts and ideas are and if **** has done this before.

Am i wasting my time or can this be done?
    Thanks in advance

2. sambo Paid Member Paid Member

Anything can be done!

But,..... i would say i dont think you should go turbo route for various reasons

1 Your car seems well sorted now so why ruin it?

2 You come accross as not beign able to carry out conversion your self(no offence!) so you will have to pay someone to do it =

3 You will need many other parts if you want to do it properly and that includes some of the engine internals =

4 Aftermarket management required as well, also =

Like i said anything is possible but all you may end up with is a mk1 that wont be as enjoyable to drive on the road as it does now!

3. drunkenalan Paid Member Paid Member

IMO you have been had!!, thats a diesel turbo and manifold. it will physically bolt to the engine, but diesel turbos are different to petrol turbos. the manifold is restrictive.