Majorly flooded engine!

Discussion in '8-valve' started by MrP, Feb 7, 2011.

1. MrP

MrP Paid Member Paid Member

Hey guys... I'm new to Golf ownership and this is my first...

Sorry for the long winded essay I just wanted to include all the info...

VW Golf Gti 8v 1988 (Digifant Early type Fusebox)

Only had the car since Thursday. The car was running nice with no major issues that I could see. On Friday/Saturday I performed a decent service (oil, oil filter, plugs, dizzy cap, rotor arm, air filter The HTs were renewed in Dec 2010). I also removed the original alarm from the interior loom as It wasnt working and sorted out some loom on the ignition and behind the fuse box which were very messy (simply cut and wrapped together with no solder, crimps or even electrical tape Looks to me its been hot wired to bypass the broken alarm at some point and never sorted properly).

Car started stuttering ever so slightly on Saturday on the first test drive for about the first 2 mins. We wriggled the dizzy cap etc which seemed to solve the issue. The car was ok from then on until Sunday night (I covered probably 200 miles since then). On Saturday after the service I went for a good blast to test out the car with no issues. On Sunday I did some motorway driving all day with no issues until night time.

On Sunday night the car started stuttering again ever so slightly like it was trying to stall every couple of minutes then went back to normal. I stopped, played with the dizzy cap again and went on my way.. After another 2 mins the car suddenly then cut out without any prior stuttering. When I tried to re-start the car instantly loads (and I mean loads) of smoke came out of the exhaust. It was either white or black but it was too dark to tell, If I were to hazard a guess I would say black.