Mk1 Camber Plates

Discussion in 'Track Prep & Tech' started by mk1 driver, Jul 19, 2007.

1. mk1 driver Forum Junkie

Just spotted these on the Bildon website.

[​IMG]

Look fairly ideal to me, no need for cutting anything? Not sure what bearings are used but what do we reckon?

2. fthaimike Forum Addict

wow they do look quite clever & with the extra height.

I wonder if you could use longer bolts & still retain the brace.

Don't think my suspension would work? maybe coilovers only?
    [​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 19, 2007
  3. mk1 driver Forum Junkie

Almost looks like you have got coilovers, are they Koni top adjustables? It may still work with standard/uprated springs and dampers but I think with most things suspension wise, utilising coilovers brings out the performance. (I'm no expert though)

I'm fairly keen on ordering a set but I'm not sure if only being able to adjust the camber on a Mk1 is a good route? Ian used top adjustable plates (camber and castor) on his old Mk1, to what seemed to be, great effect?

Is castor adjustment a bonus on a Mk1 to get it to handle well on track?

4. fthaimike Forum Addict

yeah koni top adjustables & lowering caps with uprated top mounts

5. vw_singh Events Team Paid Member

Think its worth paying the extra and buying these instead.

[​IMG]

Allows for camber & castor. $400 USD.

Gurds

6. altern8 Forum Junkie

140 the other ones from rally design are about 50 aint they

7. vw_singh Events Team Paid Member

Rally Design ones are about 50 each plus vat.

Gurds

8. mk1 driver Forum Junkie

Only thing with those other plates G is that the strut tops will need to be cut flat?

I'm sure a couple of the VW Cup cars only use camber only adjustment? (Probably in the regs come to think of it) i.e. the West End Precision cars.

9. vw_singh Events Team Paid Member