MK2 Digifant Running Rich?

Discussion in 'Engines' started by nickh89GTi, May 13, 2008.

1. nickh89GTi Forum Member

Hi Guys,

Got a Newbie here, please go easy on me. I have just finished converting my 1.3 shell i brought 2 years ago to a 1.8 8V GTi with digifant management [:D]. When it is started in the mornings it seems to smell a bit rich and sometimes get a puff of black smoke if not started for a couple of days. Could this be linked to a faulty Microswitch on the throttle body?

Also there is a spade connector on the side of the distributor. Should this have an earth lead on it and where should i earth it to?

I look forward to any guidance recieved.

Cheers

Nickh89GTi

2. olliemk2 Forum Member

alrite mate, welcome to the forum... not sure bout your distributor but as for your car

running rich dont think thats unusual at all for digi's, generally they're a bit of a b****rd!!!

dont panic though type into search button at top of page rubjonny's guide to setting up

digifant properly, if you follow that it should sort it id reckon. :thumbup:

3. nickh89GTi Forum Member

Hi Ollie, thanks for your reply mate and the welcome to the forum. As for setting up timing etc, the engine has been completly rebuilt and set up by my mate at Tipton Tuning. Haven't got an air filter on it at the mo and has a made up exhaust of various different exhausts (big bodge), but put it on the rollers and made 105 bhp and 112 lbs foot torque with a nice smooth torgue curve.

The car does sometimes rev itself to 2000rpm so am thinking the microswitch is at fault as have read some of the posts on the forum about it.

Cheers mate

nick

4. olliemk2 Forum Member

well you wont go far wrong listening to people on here mate, my mechanical knowledge is w*** but if you do a search there's usually 100 people who've asked the same thing before and your bound to find an answer somewhere, or if your really stuck pop the question and one of the guru's shouldnt be far away!!:lol: