Mk2 golf 8v PB engine rebuild

Discussion in '8-valve' started by AaronGS, Jul 18, 2023.

1. AaronGS Paid Member Paid Member

Hello,

After time sat int he garage neglected because I have been ill, the Golf is getting some attention again.
    I am needing to address my engine.
    The one in the car is a replacement that I fitted some years back due to needing to get the car on the road.
    The issue is that the cam belt tensioner bolt insert (?) had oil leaking out when we replaced the belt last time. It is due again and I am not looking forward to the job as I suspect things will be worse!

I have the old, original engine and have always planned to rebuild it. It has just taken longer to get around to that I had hoped.

After many a debate regards replacing the engine with the 8v or a 1.8T, for now I am going to go with the simple options of the 8v.

I got all the old engine parts out my shed. All looks okay apart from the block. I am new to this side of builds (never built and engine before) and the block has not done so well from sitting for years.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Do you think this is okay to use Or is it beyond repair? I thought I would ask on here before heading down to the engine rebuilder. I have found a company who say they are happy to look at/rebuild it but if anyone has recommendations for a company in or near Edinburgh, that wood be appreciated too.

Thanks for any help.

2. HPR

HPR Administrator Admin

In the end everything can be rebuild, altough its often not the most economic way of doing things... when i see the bores, these will need rebored and then you need oversize pistons which add up on cost....apart some other machining work and parts...
    How is the rust in the water channels ? Condition of the crank ? etc etc
    Its often better / cheaper to start from a more healthy base engine,