MK3 stereo upgrade

Discussion in 'ICE' started by mirabellious, Apr 14, 2010.

1. mirabellious New Member

Hi I'm completely new to this so hope you can help. Endless searches on google have made me lose the plot a bit.

Its a MK3 2 door golf.

I have worked out what grommets crossover, tweeters, components, where to put subs, amps etc. I know a crossover can go in the door or under the dash but the dash bits confusing me.

Can someone tell me do I need to remove the dash in any way to get teh wiring from the battery to stereo and to the speakers/ amps/ subs please?

if not where do you put the wiring? And if so what part of the dash do I need to remove? Is it easy? Also in the door the wiring goes through like a plastic panel each wire for a hole, do I need to remove this? I tried yesterday and couldn't do it.

I have found out the wiring goes under the sill to the back of the car.... not sure on that yet though.

I have temporarily fitted the components in the door and have got the rest to do.

2. Stewy

Stewy Paid Member Paid Member

Passenger side under glove box few screws pull back carpet..For amp to battery
    you should also remove the panel that the trim is connected to see if the blocks are all connected for the door speakers and dashboard tweeters....
    if you get really stuck let us know and i will upload pics as i have mine apart as just installing new system myself...

Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
  3. tshirt2k

tshirt2k Forum Junkie

You shouldn't need power for the steareo it will already be there. The gromment to get int the car to power the amp can be fed into the car via the grommet on the passenger side under the expansion tank. To get wires in into the doors, you may have to drill the plastic to get it through, but be careful.

4. mirabellious New Member

thanks.