MK4 2.0 8V Throttle bodies. Help needed, pics inside!

Discussion in 'Throttle bodies & non-OEM ECUs' started by karl-GTI, Mar 5, 2011.

1. karl-GTI New Member

hi, im new to golfs and this is my first one. Bought on a bit of a whim to be honest. Always liked them and got offered this for next to nothing. Its a MK4 with the 2.0 litre 8 valve engine. If id have done my research before I would have stayed away and gone for a 1.8 20v Turbo, but now iv got it im keen to turn it into a bit of a project and do something diffrent as nobody seems to want to have a go at doing much with these engines. Im no mechanic and a total novice when it comes to throttle bodies. Iv done a bit of research and not come across much, expecialy with them on this particular engine. Its been to a local garage to be checked over and the mechanic there said he wasnt even prepeared to tackle it.
    Problems are that the car is still running a standard ecu, which im told is impossible to run the bodies correctly. The car idles high and runs lumpy 90% of the time. Iv had a look around them and everything seems to have been "bodged" together.
    Basicaly wondering what work needs to be done to get this running right, and also has anyone done it before? What sort of power gains can be expected etc?
    Iv put some pics below of the bodies. Any help is very much apreciated. Thanks, Karl

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

After removing the cracked airbox that was cable tied on, I found this:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 5, 2011
  2. A.N. Other Banned after significant club disruption Dec 5th 2

I'd recommend you resize your photos to 640 x 480 as the page takes an age to load and you will be short on responses :thumbup:

3. karl-GTI New Member

I cant edit the post, Iv resized them and reuploaded them but cant edit my post

4. A.N. Other Banned after significant club disruption Dec 5th 2