MK4 GT Tdi losses power

Discussion in 'Diesel' started by Paul_TDi, Feb 19, 2007.

1. Paul_TDi Forum Member

I'ved just bought a mk4 golf gt tdi ('01) it's the 115bhp model with 6spd gear box.

being a new car and me being a young driver I felt it compulsory to do some excessive speeds along the motor way....

so crusing along at around 90 for a while all is fine, everything sounds gd, feels great. Then all of a sudden I just loose power and car won't go past 85mph with absolutly no acceleration. stick me foot down and I can feel there's no power!

restart the engine and all 115 horsies have returned.

since then I'ved changed driving style and Im a slower driver now although with the odd acceleration between gaps...

is this normal or is there something wrong?

2. Paul_TDi Forum Member

wow isn't the search button a superb thing!

from litle reading i'ved just done sounds like i have a leak and it's upsetting the boaster???

3. oak8vgti Forum Member

yeah sounds like there is a boost fault somewhere in the system, you need to get it checked on vag.com or a dealer 5051

4. JettaTDi

JettaTDi Forum Member

Believe it or not, mines did this, couldn't understand why. Since I've put in a ITG panel filter the faults disappeared.

5. Seraph Banned

prob a coincedence - unlikely a filters remedied your fault! you may have 'undisturbed' something

6. dT MK3 4

dT MK3 4 Forum Member

had the same prob with the 115bhp and if its before the 03 model I got told by JBS that the mass air flow meter is often to blame. Get them to check that out, as once i replaced mine it was back on track and running as it should be.

Hope that helps.

7. Paul_TDi Forum Member

thanks very much for the ideas, soon as i have some dollar behind me again shall get a garage to have a poke around.

8. Paul_TDi Forum Member

Thought I would update this, the fault isn't very consistant.. :S