MOT disaster

Discussion in 'Mk2' started by love_the_dub, Jul 1, 2010.

1. love_the_dub Forum Member

Hey Peeps,

I AM GUTTED,

I've spent the last 18 months putting this together after swapping a PS3 for it!!

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

it was it total bits when i got it and with massive help from you guys its done and ready!!

i'm not a prolific poster because most of my queries have been asked and answered a hundred times over.. i've pretty much replaced everything now...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

MOT was due today and this morning disaster strikes, the head light loom goes up taking the fuse board out with it [:^(][:^(][:^(]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I managed to get a loom and switch from the scrappys but cant get an fuse box until tuesday[8(] so i've put the MOT back until monday week!!

I'm so gutted i just wanna drive it now!!

2. Trev16v

Trev16v Paid Member Paid Member

Best try to investigate why the loom has fried.

Two things that come to my mind are:

- Did you happen to fit another headlight switch? It's quite well-known that there are different versions of the MK2 headlight switch and fried wiring can result if you use the wrong one. Check that the new switch you got from the scrapyard is right for your car.

- Check the condition of the wiring to the dim-dip resistor in the engine bay, as with age these can short against the chassis.

That latter tip about the dim-dip resistor is something I saw suggested by Rubjonny and no doubt he may see this and have some other ideas.

How much are you paying for the replacement fusebox you're getting? Normally these are easy to find in scrapyards. I'd have to compare part numbers to be sure but you may find that one out of a Golf MK3 will be suitable. Possibly exactly the same part number. I've got a Golf MK3 fusebox in the garage and I could get the number off it shortly if you want.

Cheers

Trev

3. pigbladder Forum Addict

then make up a headlight relay loom to remove the load of that switch

4. rubjonny