newbies fro the midlans

Discussion in '1.8 & 1.8T' started by Dan the Gti Man, Jul 29, 2010.

1. Dan the Gti Man New Member

right guys im new to this whole modding thing. im a 22 yr old, iv owned my mark 2 1.3 red golf now for 5 years, only driven for 6 monthns, (engine overheated) currently driving a 206 (bored now) but i hate seeng my golf at home sitting there doing nothing so i want to spend the money that ill get from the sale of my 206 onto my golf. approx 2000. before i stopped driving my golf it had an MOT (failed pretty comprehensivley) and service, new suspension all round, new tyres, new rocker cover, new exhaust new gearbox, engine mount, pretty much everyhthing bar the chassis.

me and a couple of friends pretty handy with cars, so could do alot of the work ourselves it would just be sourcing the parts needed and the tools required.

what would be the hardest part about restoring the car, fitting the engine/ gearbox etc or

all im asking is, what parts, engine etc would u recommend? i dont want a stupid looking modded to high heaven golf, i just want a decent stock lookin mark 2 gti, preferably with a mark 3 or 4 GTi engine.

or do i just go out and buy a Mark 2 GTi and do tht up to its former glory (nt tht any GTi has lost its former glory)

HELP NEEDED please.
    cheers again x

2. drunkenalan Paid Member Paid Member

hello dan

budget is the key to what engine to fit. I like 8v engines.

3. Dan the Gti Man New Member

Am startin to think the best way, less hassle, is to just by a new car all together. Prob save money in the long run

4. drunkenalan Paid Member Paid Member

unless your handy with the spanners its probably easier to at least start with a GTI

is the golf a 3 door, what colour?

5. nealey Forum Junkie

Its red Alan, says in the first post!

6. Dan the Gti Man New Member

Yh its red, mint condition too. Which is why am unsure. Bt am sure I cud pick up a half decent red GTi anyway to b honest. Wht wud u recommend the 8v or 16v ?