Night time moving car shots - getting consistency?

Discussion in 'Photography - general' started by A.N. Other, Oct 3, 2010.

1. A.N. Other Banned after significant club disruption Dec 5th 2

I enjoy doing night time car shots at the 'Ring and Silverstone 24 hour races and was at Silverstone the past 2 nights, trying to take as many shots as I could, as I am still learning my camera - Canon PowerShot SX1 IS (bridge):

[​IMG]

I cottoned onto how to get the Tv function to work at night, wound the exposure time right down to a quarter of a sec, or thereabouts, ISO on Auto, focus on Auto etc.

Best (sharpest) on I got (which still isn't great IMO, but might be as good as I'll get from this camera?):

[​IMG]

Properties are showing:

f/3.5 (sets automatically on this camera's Tv setting)
    1/8 sec (set my me)
    ISO-200 (Auto selected by the camera)
    0 step (I think this is the +/- option which I can adjust)
    Focal length: 8mm (pass - zoom? that's me)
    Max aperture: 3.625 (pass)
    Metering mode: Pattern (pass)
    No flash btw

I have many similar shots where I've tried to do the same thing, but it's very hit and miss, although the light did vary along the pitlane according to where the shot was taken. On continuous, so trigger happy and giving it the best chance I could.

Here's one which is out of focus, but sort of close - far too dark:

[​IMG]

f/6.3
    1/4 sec
    ISO-80
    0 step
    Focal length: 5mm
    Max aperture: 2.96875
    Metering mode: Pattern

And then real rubbish:

[​IMG]

f/3.5
    1/6 sec
    ISO-200
    0 step
    Focal length: 10mm
    Max aperture: 3.625
    Metering mode: Pattern

It leaves me gosmacked how the pros do it, except I know a couple of "Togs" and they've got the right cameras, point and get really good results (but I'm not prepared to carry the bulk of half a decent track car hanging on my shoulder!).