Opinons about the Mk5 GTI...

Discussion in 'Mk5' started by RedRobin, Sep 5, 2005.

1. RedRobin New Member

I'm a newbie here and I appreciate that most of you have Mk1-3, anyone
    with a Mk4? the fact that the Mk5 is a new car means that it doesn't feature
    here....Yet! One day, surely it will.

I'm interested what you guys, as earlier version owners, think of the latest
    incarnation of VeeDub's iconic GTI. I don't need to know cos I've already got
    one and I know what I think of it, but I'm interested in your perspective and
    it's an excuse to relate.

Thanks,
    RedRobin

2. WBR

wbr Forum Junkie

quite few mk4s here mate, and 2 or 3 mk5 GTI's IIRC

3. DarrenW Forum Junkie

I have no direct experience of them, but I like the way they look [:D]

I'll stick with my Mk1 though, thanks!

4. RedRobin New Member

5. DarrenW Forum Junkie

Vehicle related chit-chat I'd say, unless you have a specific technical query [:D]

6. DODGER Forum Member

I drive my Mums a fair bit and it's very nice. It's quite fast, comfy, rides well and is well equiped. Put it into a corner and my MK2 valver whips it's ass :thumbup: . It's just too heavey.

Nice on a long journey though.

7. RedRobin New Member

DarrenW wrote: "I have no direct experience of them, but I like the way they
    look".

....I think VW have done a pretty good job of paying homage to the Mk1 but
    without compromising what is possible with more up to date technology.

8. Rob.gti Forum Member

Here is mine:

[​IMG]

And is bloody brilliant [:D]

9. RedRobin New Member

DODGER wrote: "Put it into a corner and my MK2 valver whips it's ass"

....Really? That surprises me given the exceptional cornering ability of the
    Mk5 with its ESP etc controls plus DSG lightning gearshifts and turbo. Still, I
    wouldn't want to encourage you to write off your mum's Mk5!

I'm not claiming that the Mk5 will beat all previous versions but only how
    good it is.

10. RedRobin New Member