Question to ITB gurus

Discussion in 'Throttle bodies & non-OEM ECUs' started by Bastek333, Oct 20, 2015.

1. Bastek333 New Member

Hi guys,

I'm new to ITBs [:D] on my Peugeot 106 rallye 1.6 8V from 1998. Is the amateur rally competition car.

That topic has inspired me to go for ITB. So now I have a question to all ITB's masters :)

Project was low cost that itb's came from Honda Hornet PC41 - 36mm on diameter, home made manifold.

Now the question:

Car runs - but runs quite RICH (more than on stock manifold with ori throttle body) ... Is it a common case with ITBs ?

36mm is probably not much - but anyway watching MAP sensor on full throttle it can not go much more so do not think is problem with airflow over the throties.

Running stock (not really [:D]) ECU - I have mapped it - works perfect for stock manifold. Now I can not get fueling maps to work - so or don't have proper maps catch or don't know the way how they are working Magneti Marelli 8p.16 ECU. Ignition maps cracked.

Please take a look on pic's below and share some thoughts about .... (is not pretty project but it have to work not really look)

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Toyotec

Toyotec CGTI Committee - Happy helper at large Admin

Because your ECU needs a manifold pressure reading for the MAP sensor to point to the correct load for a given engine speed for mapped spark and fuel.

On an ITB set up, your map sensor will be at atmosphere, which is largely the same as WOT on the plenum manifold.
    This means your injectors will be opening at large durations at part load, hence the rich running on your current set up.

Your spark timing at light loads will also be to retarded or at WOT timing, therefore with a rich mixture and retarding timing, the engine will run like ****e.

blis likes this.
  3. Bastek333 New Member