RAF Leuchars Airshow (More Photos added)

Discussion in 'Photography - general' started by JettaTDi, Sep 11, 2011.

1. JettaTDi

JettaTDi Forum Member

From a previous thread I've just purchased a Nikon D3100 SLR, and a 55 - 200mm lens. I'm a complete novice this is the 1st time I've used it in anger, at RAF Leuchards Air Show at the weekend, despite the weather it was an awesome show.

Heres just a small selection of my efforts, I'll post the Red Arrows ones later.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Sep 27, 2011
  2. stella

stella Forum Junkie

I think you're having us on about being new to all this! ;)

They are great photographs - are they straight out of the camera or have you photoshopped any?

I went to Newark Air Museum in the winter and promised myself I would go to an airshow at some point. (Some point being when I can afford a longer lens.)

I don't normally like taking pictures at shows (air, dog, car, any type of show) because normally there are fences/barriers/crowds of people, making it obvious you're at a show. But thinking on, at an airshow, most of your subjects are airbourne, so at least you don't get the crowds.

Look forward to seeing your Red Arrow pics.

3. JettaTDi

JettaTDi Forum Member

Cheers Stella, I touched up the first and last photos, I was really pleased with the photos I took, It was a pretty dark and gloomy day, I turned up the ISO setting which seems to have worked ok, I did take hundreds of photos just to get a few good ones. My computer has thrown a hissy fit, once its sorted I will post more pics up.

Last edited: Sep 13, 2011
  4. danster Forum Addict

Glad to see you managed to get some good shots taken. It has been a miserable damp weekend up here, so finding a time when it was dry enough to get the camera out was lucky.

Is that a Vulcan in pic 8?

5. Trev16v

Trev16v Paid Member Paid Member

Those are awesome.

6. Admin Guest

you need to ask?

7. JettaTDi