rear brakes seized on

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Technical Queries' started by muppetsport, Oct 31, 2003.

1. muppetsport Forum Member

got a b reg 8v gti mk2 and the back brakes are seized on and there is no hand brake what-so-ever. will i need new calipers or can they be freed up? also the rear bias valve for the back brakes is seized. what sort of price are they?

last but not least, lol, the engine dont seem to rev all that fast like the timing is out. one of my mates said something to do with breathers but im not sure? its just like slow to rev when you put your foot down, next to no power at all and pops and bangs when back off throttle, sounds like timing to me, engine runs perfect on all 4 cylinders on tick over and when revved.

any ideas???? im new to vw's so all the help is well appreciated.

2. harry_the_cake Forum Junkie

Set some new calipers. If you free them up, they will seize agian in a few weeks. Trust me I know! [:^:]
    Once the mechansims are rusted, they are pants.

Get some MK3 or MK4 calipers and fit them. They are redesigned units and fit no problem. I bought a set of MK3 calipers for one of my car a year or so back. Cost me 110 for the pair at the time.

Your engine prob sounds like duff HT leads to me.

3. muppetsport Forum Member

a mate who is a vaolkswagen mechanic came nd had a look last night, the back brake discs and pads are all brand new, he reckons its just the hand brake cable stuck on as the brakes work fine otherwise. so ive got a set of cables for 15 quid this morning and im trying to brime my mate to fit em this evening. thats basically the main bit of work for the mot, just alignig headlights next then it should pass.

ill check the ht leads aswell but it revs up slow when ticking over, ie not driving which makes me think its timing related or fuel/air not set right. shall give it a once over with new plugs and leads and all that.

thanks

4. harry_the_cake Forum Junkie