Replace head bolts or not?

Discussion in '8-valve' started by Rustbuster, Jun 3, 2023.

1. Rustbuster

Rustbuster Paid Member Paid Member

Hey volks,
    I always thought cylinder head bolts were a single use only as they’re stretch bolts but reading the Bentley it states that’s only necessary on diesel and 16v models. Don’t want to be waste good parts so wondering if you guys would reuse them on an 8v? IMG_1932.jpeg

2. costel1969

costel1969 Paid Member Paid Member

Personally I wouldn’t reuse any head bolts regardless of what the Bentley manual says - I was always told use them once and then bin them.

Rustbuster likes this.
  3. Tristan

Tristan Paid Member Paid Member

Replace.
    Before I knew about this stuff, as a boy mechanic, I had a reused one snap.
    No fun.

Rustbuster and daNpy like this.
  4. GVK

GVK Paid Member Paid Member

The procedure for tightening them should tell you that you have to replace them, as the degrees turned tightening them 'stretches' the bolt to give it it's tightening (clamping) torque.

It's late/early so the above looks like a ramble, hope you understand it!

Rustbuster likes this.
  5. PhilRyder

PhilRyder Paid Member Paid Member

Not only the above but how long have they been in there? They have been in use for years and many miles. No doubt in my mind - replace.

Rustbuster likes this.
  6. Savagesam

Savagesam Moderator Staff Member Moderator

I’ve got half a set of 16v head bolts in my boot if you want to live life on the edge and do half.

But I echo what’s said above. Especially as I just had to repair a car because someone didn’t use a new stretch bolt in a blind hole and it snapped

Rustbuster likes this.
  7. Rustbuster

Yeah, thanks fellas, thought so and that’s all making sense.:thumbup:

8. KeithMac Forum Junkie

I did an ARP stud conversion, you can re-use the ARP's.

Any angle tightened bolt should be deemed one use only as Gary says.

9. watercooled Forum Member