Welding / saving MK2 - input and advice?

Discussion in 'Mk2' started by RichardDarrenB, Apr 23, 2023.

1. RichardDarrenB Paid Member Paid Member

Long story short I have an F reg MK2 8v GTI which I bought with the intention of saving/selling. I have no attachment to the car and my motives for buying it where to try save it from the dead and get a few quid for my time. As it stands it owes me virtually nothing so am at a crossroads what to do with it having found some pretty horrible (to me) looking corrosion.

Either sell it as it is to someone as it stands

Or break it

Or press on and save it

Heres the rust in question. Now bear in mind I've never welded in my life however I'm not shy about getting involved and have seen a few intensive welding courses for a full day to teach the basics. I can probably borrow most of the gear as well so not concerned about outlay there. But I guess my question is does this look too nasty for an absolute beginner to tackle... opinions?

Basically there's a hole in the bulkhead behind the matrix, holes in both rear pans and a big gaping hole either side at the front corners. Plus any more that I find haha.

20230421_172339.jpg 20230407_123102.jpg 20230407_122940.jpg 20230407_123041.jpg 20230407_123139.jpg

2. Savagesam

Savagesam Moderator Staff Member Moderator

Send it my way, I’d love to weld it up

RichardDarrenB likes this.
  3. RichardDarrenB Paid Member Paid Member

I could probably crush it up and fit it in a big jiffy bag the state of it haha

Do you think it's doable tho in all seriousness?

4. Zender Z20

Zender Z20 Paid Member Paid Member

Sounds like you took the car on to turn it around and hopefully make a few quid, plus as a bonus have the satisfaction / enjoyment of doing it in the process?

Think that's now reached it's end and from here on things'll be potentially expensive / time consuming with quite a few bad days to put up with taking any pleasure out of it.