What to get

Discussion in 'Photography - general' started by letooms, Dec 10, 2009.

1. letooms Paid Member Paid Member

Right then Nikon lovers - a question:

I'm going to sell my D60 and upgrade to something a little newer. Still Nikon and i'll be buying new (nothing second hand). Budget is about 700 and this can be the camera body only if necessary.

I've looked at the D5000 but don't want HD video so it seems like i'm paying a premium for technology I don't need.

Will need the following: High ISO range (100 or lower up to 6400 if possible) full manual control and something compatible with my existing Nikon gear (selection of SB600's and my SU800)

I am a photography student and also earning money from commercial jobs as and when they come about so need a fully fledged digital slr. Full frame cameras are out of my price range at the minute.

What are you guys using at the minute? Does anyone have any experience of the d90/d5000/d3000?

2. richwig83 Forum Member

I would get a D300.... fantastic camera!!

3. letooms Paid Member Paid Member

Also 300 over my budget. as much as i would love one...Is that what you use?

4. richwig83 Forum Member

Look on ebay... youll have to stretch your budget a little but its will be worth it!

I use canon!

5. stella

stella Forum Junkie

I have a D300 and am more than happy with it. When I bought mine in February, it cost 999, but it seems to have gone up a couple of hundred since then (weakness of the pound against the yen, apparently).

It was a good step up from my D70. My only complaint really is how heavy it is - I find it difficult to handhold without shake, so tend to cart a monopod/tripod around with me.

If you're local to a Jessops or Jacobs, go in at a quiet time and they'll usually happily show you their range and let you have a go with one. Then go home and find a cheaper price for what you fancy on the internet.

If you're earning a bit from commercial jobs, put the extra by from that.

Good luck.