Which Mk5 Golf diesel?

Discussion in 'Mk5' started by shiggins92, Oct 1, 2009.

1. shiggins92 Forum Member

right to start im an absolute noob with volkswagon golfs.

Im looking into getting a diesel and i really like this:
    http://www.babez.de/vw/golfgttdi/newtitel.jpg

im not sure if thats a mk5 or what it is td gti i think but its really nice.

is there any reccomendations of which one to get and whats the difference?

2. RIP-MK3 Forum Addict

the GT diesels are nice, as are the GT TDI in either 140 or 170bhp form. Both well spec'd and lovely cars imo. If you can get a 170 with leather you will be laughing

3. shaz8389

shaz8389 Forum Junkie

My friend has a well specced TDi, it's a nice smooth car to drive and seems like it would be a comfortable daily, he got a good deal on it too (ex-demo I think it was, he got one hell of a price on it though considering it wasn't out that long when he got it.)

4. shiggins92 Forum Member

do they look exactly the same the td gti 140 and 170 brake how will i tell the diff nd would i be able to get one around 56 plate?

5. Crispy 8V CGTI Committee - Club Secretary Admin

keep to the 140 is my advice,

170's will / should be advertised as that, it has a Diesel Partical Filter on it

6. shiggins92 Forum Member

7. RIP-MK3 Forum Addict

^^whats up with the 170?

they did 1.9 (110bhp?)
    and then 2.0 (140/170)

8. Crispy 8V CGTI Committee - Club Secretary Admin

well the 170, yes it's quick and more noticeable quicker when driving. It's a lot more thirsty on the juice not only because of the more power but it has a Diesel particle filter (DPF) which has a CAT then a section that catches the ash produced
    it will then chuck fuel though the exhaust to burn the ash of, if this isn't done it will throw up a warning light for the driver to stay at a steady 2000K RPM for about 20mins driving
    if this isn't completed soon your potentially blocking the filter, turning the warning light red and switches on Limp mode