Which Setup

Discussion in 'Turbocharged, Supercharged or Nitrous !' started by rivsm, Jan 3, 2008.

1. rivsm New Member

Hi Guys

Im new to this although i signed up a while ago ive been busy with a turbo project on my BMW. As we are nearing completion I thought it would be great to gather info on turbocharging a GTi.

Im no stranger to the GTi as I had a 1983 1.8 Golf II GTi with a 276 Billet cam, Cowley branch and a custom exhaust and boy did she move.[:D]

I would like to know what would be the easiest and cheapest GTi engine to go the FI route?[:s]
    What sort of money would it invovle and what sort of power to expect?[:s]

Just a feeler so I have an idea on the way ahead.

Thank you

2. sparrow Paid Member Paid Member

What power are you after? What management (OEM or standalone)?

3. rivsm New Member

Well not sure really as I dont know what type of power they make but probably around the 300BHP mark if possible and using ms.

Im not sure what the realistic power outputs are?

4. Wolfsburg-Motorsport New Member

There's quite a few different routes u can go. Conversions are easier in a mk2 base car than a mk1, corrado parts can be used and mk3 parts too. Swaps for a 2 are G60/vr6/1.8t/16vT/8vT and if u want big power vr6T! [}:)] Most companies will charge anywhere between 4-6k for a decent full 20vT conversion but if u can do the work urself u can build any of the above for that price or less. A mk1 will need mounts and other bits bought/made for it where a mk2 can use another vw models' bits.

The mk1/2 020 boxes are fairly weak from general opinion and the 02a (vr6/g60) boxes are capable of handling 300hp+ but are cable change instead of rod change, so other mods are needed for that part of the conversion (see Qpeng's site for a 20vT+02a conv guide on mk1/2 or funksoulkitty).