Your thoughts please gents....

Discussion in 'Mk1' started by hysteric, Jan 19, 2011.

1. hysteric Forum Member

Hello to the forum!

I've been lurking for a while and reaslied there is a mine of information here and so joined. I do not own a MK1...yet - but intend on doing so in the near future - of course sepcifically a mk1 gti.

Looking for one now is an absoute minefield - I do not consider myself a total noob yet definitely no anorak - but it is not easy finding a clean mk1 gti out there. Hence my first of many questions - may I have you thoughts on this delight? Aside from being slightly dear, any issues immediately noticed?

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C192290/

Oh, and would you consider it a deal breaker if the engine and/or gearbox has not been reconditioned after 100,000miles? I run an air-cooled porsche and this is almost considered mandatory if one is to purchase. Or is just a recent cambelt service good enough and go on evidence (smoke on start up or revving etc)......

cheers.:thumbup:

2. Boff Forum Member

Hi there,

I've had MK1's with over 250,000 miles on the clock which have run better than one's that I've owned with 70,000 miles it all depends on how its been looked after and how well serviced its been, mileage is generally not a problem for MK1's.

There are plenty of buying guides around which I recomend you read as there are so many things to look for its hard to explain them in a quick post.

For that money I would be looking for little to no rust, an engine that starts perfect and is quiet and smooth with no smoke or tappet noise it should pick the revs up from cold to about 1500 rpm then settle down to about 850rpm when warm. There should be no fluid leaks around the engine and the gearbox should not crunch between 1st and second and be easy to get into reverse. You really want to check that the car does not have any water leaks and that the sunroof has no rust anywhere near it.