02A into Golf MK2

Discussion in 'Engines' started by Trev16v, Mar 13, 2005.

1. Trev16v

Trev16v Paid Member Paid Member

Evening all.

I'll be wanting to source a G60 gearbox at some point and convert my Golf 16V MK2 to use the cable change and hydraulic clutch setup.

I've never done anything like this before but this weekend I messed around with a Passat GT to see how the cable change bits go together. It all looks a lot simpler than I expected, really. Just have a few questions:

The cable-change gear stick mechanism itself: If I remove this from the Passat, is there any modification necessary in the Golf MK2 for it to fit? I didn't remove the mechanism from the Passat (it seems that you have to get underneath and remove the exhaust and heatshield to do it, and I couldn't be arsed today) but from what I remember, there seemed to be a couple of bolts holding it in place at the top, for which matching holes don't seem to exist on the Golf. So would I need to cut away the part of the tunnel from the Passat where the gearchange mechanism bolts to and have that chopped in? Or, would I find that a Golf or Corrado mech would bolt straight in? Or are they all they all the same and I'm talking out of my arse?

Similarly, the pedal box from the Passat. Is there any chopping and welding necessary, and do I need to make an opening in the bulkhead for the clutch pedal cylinder? (Then again, I guess the shell already has a hole there with a plastic bung in it, or maybe the clutch cable - I haven't looked yet).

The hydraulic cylinder that I took off the Passat gearbox has got a damaged seal around the plunger. I guess that this isn't something that can be replaced separately, no?

Just wondering if there's anything else I should know?

Many thanks,

Trev

2. Mad 20v Forum Member

The ratios for the G60 box are very long, i take it you going to use the box with your 16v engine ???