1991 Golf 2 GTi G60 Gearbox upgrade from O2A to O2J Help needed

Discussion in 'Transmission' started by Carlos Santiago, Mar 4, 2024.

1. Carlos Santiago New Member

Hello guys,

I own a 1991 Golf 2 G60 (A/C car but took it out) for almost 10 years now and ive modded alot of things along the years and time has come to change or upgrade the gearbox.

Im not a mechanic but do love it and would like to have some help in choosing the right box for my car. The car is not standard and has the following mods:

Bartek 2.0 Stroker kit
    XXL Intercooler
    Schrick cams asymetric 286ยบ (not sure on the degrees but think its this)
    Zetec Headers
    Custom fuel rail with bigger injectors 440 if im not mistaken
    Vibratecnics engine mounts and a few Powerflex upgrades too
    KW V3
    Full stainless exhaust with central muffler and final muffler 68mm
    KN box filter
    AEM fuel air wideband
    Wheels 15in x 8"
    Fuel regulator

I might be missing other stuff but i think this is enough for the discussion. The car has been tuned with a chip and came out with 215hp and 298nm but im planning to get a standalone ECU and redo the engine loom for better numbers and better reliability.

Ive been reading alot about the gearbox swap from O2A to O2J but im still a bit unsure what gearing to use. My gearbox is the O2A but i suspect it has different gearing from the original spec since 5th gear cuts off at around 230 km/hr which ive heard is pretty low and should be closer to 250 km/hr or more that it cuts off 5th. Im not a big fan of top speed but more 0-200 km/hr range. I plan on installing a Diff with the new gearbox.

From reading forums and stuff online ive gathered that gearing wise i should look for:

1st - 4th from VR6
    5th from a TDi
    Final drive from G60

Ive also read about the CTN box but im confused its a 02A or OJ2?
    Also any thoughts about the gearing? What would you guys go for?

Thanks alot and hope you guys can give me some help on this :)