1997 Audi A4 1.9TDi

Discussion in 'Diesel' started by shaz8389, Feb 28, 2012.

1. shaz8389

shaz8389 Forum Junkie

Just picked one up as a bargain. It's been to the moon and back at 228k on the clock but drives like it's new due to some money spent keeping it in top shape by the previous owner.

I'm told the turbo could do with a de-coke, how tricky a job is this?

Also, is there anything worth doing? I generally want the MPGs to be honest. EGR delete worth my time?

2. Mike_H Forum Addict

Start by measuring what MPG you're getting now, so you can compare it with any changes later!

EGR blank is easy - buy blanking plates and gaskets from ebay. The more time consuming bit is if you clean all the gunge out of the inlet manifold and cylinder head ports as well. You can turn down the EGR rate using VAGCOM.

I haven't heard of de-coking turbos, but I'm pretty new to diseasels.

3. shaz8389

shaz8389 Forum Junkie

Yeah I'm unsure about it too. It drives well and is doing about 47mpg at the moment which I think is great considering I'm heavy footed and in stop start traffic on the way to work.

My only real intention is maintenance and economy right now.

4. Mike_H Forum Addict

You need to get to grips with VAGCOM on this modern sheeite - start with a scan for fault codes and timing check. 47 sounds about right for heavy traffic.

5. shaz8389

shaz8389 Forum Junkie

Scanned it before and after test drive, all clear. It's actually really nice to drive considering the mileage too. I can't knock 47mpg in traffic really, its about the same as my mum's brand new Volvo. Feels quite agile to drive for its size too. I think its lighter than it looks, the book says 1240kg. Obviously weight drop will help it but I don't fancy that route.

6. Dubnutter Forum Member

I wouldnt of thought a turbo decoke would be nessesary. Its only VNT's that suffer with cokeing up. WG turbo's can be cleaned with a good old fashioned 'Italian tune up'. But to be honest they dont tend to clog.