2 pack laquer at home - now with flatting trouble!!!

Discussion in 'Styling, Trim and Bodywork' started by bigman_10, Sep 13, 2008.

1. bigman_10 Forum Member

no more north than south and no more east than wes
    hey guys firstly newbie here and secondly i've searched so don't worry!

i've just bought some base coat and clear coat as i'm ready to finish my home respray, problem is i asked the guy in the shop about the best laquer and i ended up coming out with 2 pack, how dangerous is this for use at home in a double garage with only a halfords double filter mask? I think i might have to take it back, plus it cost a bomb! i spent 230 on 3 litres of base coat 5 litres of 2pk thinners, 5 litres of laquer and 2.5 litres of hardener!!!

Any help welcome guys as its got me worrying!

Last edited: Sep 29, 2008
  2. ihaveajetta Forum Member

nothing to worry about just keep ya mask on and make sure its suitable for the paint you are using.

try to get the overspray out as quick as you can maybe invest in some extraction and keep your mask on as long as possible.

laquer creates alot of overspray and you probably wont be able to see until it clears in there haha

3. Hotgolf

Hotgolf Paid Member Paid Member

I generally use a single filter mask(isocyanide canister) with plenty of ventilation in my garage. You'll be fine. where a paper suit though. If you don't you'll feel the hairs start to harden up lol.

4. bigman_10 Forum Member

cheers guys do you think i've bought too much laquer stuff though, i was thinking about 4-5 coats of laquer for a full exerior respray of a mk2 golf, I've taken all the panels and windows out, and primered up to the inner seals? do you think 3-4 litres of fully mixed laquer would be enough?

oh yeah and about ventialtion how should i aid this? i dont really want to open the garage door?

5. pigbladder Forum Addict

you're sposed to wear a air fed respirator