8v K-Jetronic ; difficult to hot-start

Discussion in 'Engines' started by Blingpanzer, Dec 31, 2004.

1. Blingpanzer Forum Member

Stumped...

Mycar is an '85 K-Jetronic-equipped 8v, completely standard, 69K mileswarranted from new. Normally it runs beautifully, pulls strongly and returns OK fuel economy (about 26mpg according to the MFA).

If I try to hot-start it, it requires throttle to catch, and then stumbles and eventually stalls if not revved to 3000rpm and held there for a few seconds. It sounds like it's misfiring during that period. After that, it runs beautifully, although the idle can get a bit lumpy after a while instop-start traffic.

I'm new to K-Jet; anybody got any idea what's going on?

Cheers [:D]

2. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

You should be getting more MPG than that, I'm sure up to 40mpg is achievable, 35 at least?

Could be the blue temp sensor and/or an air leak somewhere.

3. octane Forum Junkie

he's going off the mpg, and we all know how correct they are!

there isn't a blue temp sensor on k-jet.
    you have to be care i tihnk with misfires/backfires as it can move the sensor plate which will make it hard starting.
    if you have a multimeter and a haynes, check the wur and the wiring to it.
    will it drive and get warm and drive fine? but play up once its been turned off and back on?

4. rubjonny

rubjonny Administrator Staff Member Admin

Ah yes the Multi Function OF LIES :lol:

Could it be the WUR is switching on when it shouldn't or perhaps the acumilator not keeping residual pressure?

Not sure about the acumilator as surely pressure would build up very quickly and not cause problems for a few seconds...
    Edited by: rubjonny

5. Golden Forum Junkie

This sounds like classic fuel vapourization.

Heat soak in the engine bay when you switch off boils the fuel in the injector lines causing air locks. The missing you hear on start up is the lines bleeding themselves.

Does your fan after run work?