Drove a mark 3 GTI today

Discussion in 'Mk3' started by Andy99, Nov 1, 2003.

1. Andy99 Forum Member

been upto Newcastle for a p*ss up last night and had to drive my mates MK3 8v GTI back to sheffield today cos he kept falling asleep at the wheel [:s] . I have been driving a lowered and poly bushed Mk2 8v for the last two years and I have to say the ride quality of the Mk3 is spot on.

It has uprated shocks on standard springs and i was quite impressed by the way it handled. Doing 105 mph felt like about 70! just sat there smooth and steady. thinkng abount looking for a nice 16v Mk3 now.

I must say that when i got back in the Mk2 i couldnt stop smiling because it felt so much more raw and "driveable" but if i had to do any long drive I would take the Mk3 any day.

just need to try a mk1 and mk4 now :p

Edited by: Andy99

2. AndrewF Forum Addict

you wanna try a vr6 mate...that'll make a mkIII feel a little more 'raw'!!!

they are great everyday cars...perfect compromise in my opinion.

3. MK3_GPP Forum Member

My MK3 handle's spot on aswell thanks to Koni coilovers. [:D]

If you enjoyed the 8v have a go in the 16v ;)

4. MrBen Forum Junkie

It's funny how raw a Mk3 can feel though - been driving around in the old dear's Laguna for the last week whilst they've been on holiday as I fancied a change and it had a full tank of petrol when she went away! Getting back in the Golf today it just feels right, and despite being an 8v, it actually feels pretty quick!!

5. Paul Forum Member

Yeah, I was driving my folks standard S reg Astra last night and its so damn sloppy compared to my MK3 with a Blistien Sprintline kit fitted.

6. vrbanana Forum Junkie