ITB Build Thread

Discussion in 'Throttle bodies & non-OEM ECUs' started by Dub Nutta, Dec 6, 2006.

1. Dub Nutta Forum Member

Over the last few months i've been converting some Suzuki GSX-R throttle boddies to use on my 16v engine.

I'm a Mechanical Engineering student so I have access to a machine shop to make up all of the custom bits myself.

[​IMG]

GSX-R Boddies straight off of the bike, 48mm at inlet and 42mm at the outlet, 90mm long. They are on 80mm centres so need to be split and spaced to the VW 16/20V 88mm port spacing.

[​IMG]

Spacers turned up, the bolt that holds the boddies together wasnt long enougth so I used a length of stainless M6 studding. There is just an alloy strip along the bottom, so I made a new one drilled with the holes an extra 8mm appart.

[​IMG]

However with the boddies spaced the throttles no longer reached so these had to be extended. I drilled and tapped the existing throttle arm and then bolted on a small peice of mild steel, this would probably have held it but I TIG welded it on in a few places aswell to make sure.

[​IMG]

The throttle quadrant on the end was drilled out slightly to allow a mountain bike brake cable to fit. and am M5 capscrew and lock nut added to adjust the throttle closed position.

I bourght some 48mm Jenvey trumpets which matched perfectly to the intake of the throttle boddies. However there was no way of holding them on and I wanted to be able to change trumpets at a later date if i wanted. So I machined up some flanged that pressed over the end of the throttle boddy and are tack welded in place.

[​IMG]

next was the manifold . I toyed with the idea of a CNC'ed flange but decided a cut down factory manifold was best. The runners are welded on at a slight angle and the cast flange had more material in it to allow this to be neatly blended.

[​IMG]

The manifold was just cut off with an angle grinder and then set up on a milling machine with a fly cutter and skimmed to the correct angle.

[​IMG]