Mk2 tdi conversion questions

Discussion in 'Diesel' started by dave_dub86, Jan 26, 2011.

1. dave_dub86 Forum Member

Hi all,

Since I now have 80 miles a day to travel, my fuel bills have gone through the roof. This has given me the idea of having an economical diesel daily, preferably a mk2, with still enough power and sorted enough chassis to be fun.

I've found a local, mint 1990 1.3 mk2 for sale and I've started my diesel research on the tdi club site (I'm totally new to diesel!). I know theres a couple of directions possible with a 1.9 tdi swap into the mk2; a mk3 mechanical pump tdi (IZ code?) or an electronic pump mk4 tdi (PD code?).

I'd like quite a bit of power (150bhp at least) and this seems easier from the modern PD engines, however the conversion seems a lot more involved, which is making me want to go down the mk3 tdi mechanical pump route. I know bhp isn't everything, but my present cars are fairly nippy and I can't imagine driving anything sluggish again.

Although they are very useful, there is almost too much information on the tdi forums and I'm getting confused with engine code talk, so my questions if anyone can help are these:

What would need to be done to a mk3 tdi to bring it up to (at least) 150 bhp?
    What driveshafts could be used on a mk2 if a mk3 02A box is used?
    Would a VR6 clutch cope with the torque?
    Could a mk4 tdi be run using a mechanical fuel pump from a mk3?
    I like the idea of a widetrack setup, how would this affect driveshaft choice?

Many thanks in advance as always

2. m1keh Forum Member

What would need to be done to a mk3 tdi to bring it up to (at least) 150 bhp?
    Bigger Injector Nozzles and a new turbo and n75 valve with piping from a pd130 or pd150 engine, these turbos will need a custom rear engine mount and a custom intercooler and piping and a remap to suit.

What driveshafts could be used on a mk2 if a mk3 02A box is used?