mk4 golf pd gt tdi130 cold start

Discussion in 'Diesel' started by 8valvedub, Nov 20, 2008.

1. 8valvedub Forum Member

hi now its getting a bit nippy in the morning ive noticed when i try to start up 1st thing in the morning it will crank over fire then die instantly when i try start it straight after it,ll start fine,doesnt run rough or anything-once started runs sweet,just have to start it twice any ideas what this could be?im new to diesels so have no idea:thumbup:

2. 8valvedub Forum Member

i was thinking glow plugs but im not sure about that now as it dosent crank over for long its about normal ,one thing i have noticed is the glow plug light on dash only stays on for like a second or so before it goes out is that normal?

3. 8valvedub Forum Member

ok i got some advise from a guy saying that there could be air in the fuel system.how do i got about bleeding the fuel system to remove any air?

4. i.a.n.b Forum Junkie

Thats normal, when the light goes out they are warmed up and you can start the engine. You need to get it plugged into a VW computer and see if theres any fault codes. Coolant temp sensors are common for causing starting problems from cold as they can send an incorrect signal to the ecu telling it the engines at a different temp to what it really is.

5. 8valvedub Forum Member

hmmmmmmm i did think tht ive had vag cag connected and it shows no engine faults do u know where the temperature sensor is on this car as i may try it .[:s]

6. nealey Forum Junkie

take the engine cover off and follow the top coolant hose and you will find it, has a connector with 4 wires going into it

7. i.a.n.b Forum Junkie

It will be in a plastic housing on the head.

*edit beat me to it Nealey*

8. 8valvedub Forum Member